The Root to All Happiness

Leave a comment

I must apologize now because this post isn’t going to give you all the answers to that one question, but it seems like many people try to find the root to their own happiness everyday.  Just Google “Happy” or words similar to it and just watch what pops up.  I recently started reading Gretchen Rubin’s Happier At Home, two summers ago I read her first book, The Happiness Project, which sparked a fire in me to discover I really liked photography and should start to pursue it again (one reason this blog got started!)  I’m not sure if it’s the winter blues or just because the New Year has come upon us, but I’ve decided I need to reboot my effects in the happiness area.  Don’t get me wrong, I am a happy person, there are plenty of things I am grateful for and are happy about, but there are also some things I need to improve upon.

“Happiness is neither virtue nor pleasure nor this nor that, but simply growth.  We are happy when we are growing.”  -William Butler Yeats

The main reason I started this blog wasn’t because I wanted to show the whole world my photography skills or gather a huge following (but that would be nice!), but it was to be accountable for my time & my progress.  I wanted to watch myself grow…the quote rings true, we are happier when we are growing.  I’ve never been good at keeping a journal, or a food log or even an exercise routine, (coming from the girl who was a D1 Athlete), I’m not sure why my blog has stuck with me, all I know it’s working for me and I should keep at it.  Only ‘you’ can hold yourself back and I think I’m really good at it!  “I don’t know where to start,” “I don’t have enough time,” “I don’t know what I’m doing…” are all excuses I have used to talk myself out of what I should really be doing and what would make me happy, I’m not sure why that is, but I’m prepared to get to the root of the problem.  Maybe I need to make realistic goals, maybe I have to start small, maybe I need to hire people to do it for me…(I wish).  All I know is that it starts me with and only me and I just have to do it!  So I’ve come up with some steps (a plan) to find the root of my happiness…

Steps to the Root of My Happiness:

1)  Put the puzzle pieces together…meaning get all my ducks in a row.  I feel stressed because there are just some things I haven’t done to make my business legit yet.  So I must make a to-do list and cross them off!

2)  Find more timequit my job I can’t do that (right now), but it would free up some time in my day.  So I need to mange my time wisely, maybe by setting up some type of photography schedule when I get home or on the weekends.

3)  Blog more…blogging makes me happy, photography makes me happy, so I should find time to do both more often!

4)  Stop worrying…hahahahahaha, sorry I think this is genetic and you can’t change your genes!  But how about focus on what I can change and not on what I can’t!

5)  Learn more about marketing myself & creating a brand I love!  This is a big one, I must put myself out there, that’s the only way to get clients and take more photographs and learn…I must figure out who I am as a photography and brand myself accordingly.  It’s not going to happen over night (I must remember this!)

What are you doing to find the root to your happiness?  Are you doing what makes you happy?

 

 

Leave a Reply

