Make Your Lights Shine!

1 Comment

A few of your have asked how I blurred out my Christmas Tree lights, well with lots of reading and some trail and error I will show you!  First I must give a shout out to Pinterest because really without it I’d be lost…and there are tons of great resources out there, here are a few to check out from Click It Up A Notch (where I got the idea!):  Christmas Tree Bokeh explained, 5 Steps on How to Photography Christmas Lights, & How to Create Beams of Christmas Lights (which I hope to do soon!)

But do try, it’s super fun and can give some great bokeh, drag your kids, pets or whoever along to help and play around with your settings!  I did all this pictures with manual focus on, (this is key to making great bokeh), and increase your ISO because 1. your indoors, and 2. it’s night time!  Don’t be afraid!  Then play around with your F-stop and Shutter Speeds, use a tripod if you need too.  Shooting wide open tends to get the best results, but even creeping up 1 or 2 stops gives a different effect!  Have fun 🙂

Tree_01

400, 1.4, 1/100, Manual focus–obv. in focus!

Tree_02

400, 1.4, 1/100, Manual focus

1600, 2.2, 1/80 Manual focus

1600, 2.2, 1/80 Manual focus

Having some fun! 3200 (I probably didn't need to have my ISO so high) 2.2, 1/200

Having some fun! 3200 (I probably didn’t need to have my ISO so high) 2.2, 1/200
Make your own heart filter!

One thought on “Make Your Lights Shine!

Leave a Reply

