Change is Scary!

Leave a comment

I am sure a lot of people can relate to this!  We are humans and that means we are creatures of habit and routine.  Once we get into a set routine, it’s hard for us to change that.  But this is where a few of us get into trouble…some habits or routines are not always healthy or helpful to us, such as an addiction to alcohol or drugs, staying in a bad relationship or even at a job we hate.  Since it is usually hard for us to change overnight we find that staying in our current state or predicament seems more appropriate because it’s all we know.   Like I said, change is scary and change is hard, and it seems the older we get the harder it is.  We have become comfortable and familiar in our surroundings and in our lives and why would we want to change what is comfortable and familiar?   It’s fear!  Fear of the unknown, fear of failure, and even fear of success.  We choose to stay idle because then we don’t have to face our fears.

I think it’s the Aquarius in me because I feel like I don’t fit, like I’ve lost my direction, my passion, my destiny…This quote says it best, “If you’re not able to live your life on your own terms, you’ll dream and aspire to a future time when you can fulfill your destiny to the fullest in exactly the way you want.” (Source)  

It was Einstein that said, “insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”  Why would I want to continue down the path I’m on when I’m expecting hoping for different results?  I recently had a conversation with my husband about said topic and we compared it to the day we started dating…now we didn’t start dating until 6 years after we met, but deep down in my heart I already knew he was the one I was going to marry, I couldn’t explain it, I knew once I was ready to let go (and change) we could be together.  That’s the key here, I had to allow myself to let go of past regrets and future fears to move forward.  That’s how I feel about photographer…I know deep down in my heart it’s what I was meant to do, but I can’t let go of past regrets and future fears…

The simplest solution: baby steps, the key is to start small by either adding or subtracting things in our life that are helpful or hinder our growth.  Remember it takes time and effort for change to happen, especially if it’s significant.

So I keep chugging along, taking baby steps…

I signed up for another class, this one related to the business side of photographer, Artist to Entrepreneur.  My husband noted how happy I was on the phone when I signed up for the class…your heart just knows, you can’t explain it.  Change wants to happen, so let it happen! 

I also believe people should be prepared or at least somewhat prepared before jumping into the great unknown…that’s the responsible adult in me…so I’m trying to take the necessary steps/precautions before change I hit the ground running.

Thanks for listening!

Leave a Reply

