Week 2 of Class

1 Comment

I have forgotten to update you all on the happenings of my photography class!  We have already had three classes (out of 6), time is flying!  Connecting with your subject was the topic for week 2, sure your lighting & composition are important, but it’s how you interact with your subject/client that is the most important.  If you can’t make your subject relax then it will show in your photographs, most people don’t feel comfortable in front of the camera (I included), making your subject feel relax can make or break a photo shoot and you never know what you’ll be able to get out of them if you can’t connect with them!

This week we were able to choose either a window portrait or a photojournalist portrait.  Our rules were to really study our subject, if we chose the window portrait we had to show off and capture our subject’s true personality.  I chose to do a photojournalist portrait, knowing I was going to the PumpkinFest with my sister and her family.  For any type of photojournalism shot, it’s best to step back and observe & study your surroundings.  Slow yourself down and get a feel for what is going on around you, visualize your next move & shot.  You really need to get out of your comfort zone here or you will miss out on a great photo opportunity!

The key to both of these assignments…photograph a moment in time that doesn’t need to be explained…you want to be able to look at the photograph and instantly know what the photographer wanted to say!

Here are a few of my favorites (I’m giving my settings too) I’ll try to remember to do that each time, I think they help in the learning process!

100, f/1.8, 1/125

200, f/16, 1/30

200, f/5.0, 1/125

200, f/5.0, 1/125

Next week we go over portrait/studio lighting!

 

One thought on “Week 2 of Class

  1. I love that picture of your sister! It’s perfect!

Leave a Reply

