Tips on How to Take Better Photos!

Leave a comment

Over this past year I have learned so much from other incredible ladies and their blogs!   I love seeing other people’s perspectives and how others do things and learn from their success or failures, everyone has something different and special to offer.  I hope I can be that person for you!  I hope I am teaching others about photography.  I want others to have their  “Ah Ha” moment just like I have had many times!

So today, on this beautiful Friday, I thought I’d offer my 5 tips on how I was able to take better photographs and how you can too!

1)  Try shooting in Manual!  It can be scary, but in this digital age you have the luxury of messing up and not worrying about wasting & spending a fortunate on film.  I suggest sitting down and reading your manual so you can familiarize yourself with your camera!

2)  Understanding the Exposure Triangle!  This was huge for me, once it clicked, there was no looking back for me!  Knowing how ISO, Shutter Speed, and Aperture work together can make or break your photographs.  Photography is all about light, and of course creatively too…so how you use your settings can bring your photos to life!

3)  Invest in a prime (good) lens…when my husband bought our Nikon D70, it came without a lens, luckily we were able to borrow one from a friend, but I knew we had to buy one for ourselves.  After much reading I thought a prime lens would best suit my needs.  A prime lens is a lens that does not zoom and has a fixed aperture (i.e. 1.2, 1.4 or 1.8).  I bought a 35mm 1.8.  I now own a 50mm 1.4! (I love it), but I eventually I want to buy an 85mm or 105mm…they are on my wish list.  Though if you love taking photos of landscapes a zoom lens might better fit your needs.  But prime lens are usually much powerful and take crisper, cleaner photos!  They are a big investment so if you aren’t ready to commit yet you can always rent first!

4)  Get Involved!  This could either mean, online or offline.  There are fabulous websites, forums, blogs all over the internet!  There is TONS of information just sitting in cyberspace waiting for you to learn.  Forums are a great way to talk to other people around the world and get feedback and advice on your photography.  (You’ve heard me talk about Clickin Moms, perfect place to get involved!).  You can also take a photography class, some community colleges offer night classes (this is how I got started), even check out your local parks and rec department.  It’s always nice to get face to face feedback from a teacher and your classmates!

5)  PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!!!  This is the most important, you can’t get better if you don’t practice.  It’s that simple…it can be hard at times because sometimes the last thing you want to do some days is pick up your camera.  Time away from your camera is a good thing though!! We all need breaks from our hobbies, (we don’t want them to start feeling like work).  Get involved in creative projects, do a 52 week project or a 365!  You can find inspiration for the photo of the day or lists on Pinterest if you get stuck on what to photograph.  Create a blog and link up with others!  Remember, practice really does make perfect!

I hope this was helpful!   I would love to know what has helped you along your photography journey to take better photos.

Happy Shooting!

Leave a Reply

