Stop Comparing Yourself…Lauren!

1 Comment

We all do it!  We start down a new path, get all excited about the future, where it may take you, everything is new and you love learning about said hobby, topic, whatever you’ve started…Then the doubt creeps in, it’s self-doubt, it doesn’t matter how many people stop you and tell you how great you are, what great “photos you take”, or etc, it’s still there, you are blinded by what YOU see and can’t see what others see.  It’s frustrating!!!  Having confidence is hard!  (In whatever you do, if it’s working out, sticking to a new diet, going back to school, starting a new job, whatever it is, you need to have confidence in yourself).  There are times when I’m so motivated to start a business and get out there and start taking on clients, and then there are some days I just want to sit on the couch and not touch my camera and scared to death…because I have no clue how to start my own business!!  Fear is a powerful thing, it can make you or break you!  But if fear stopped us, we probably wouldn’t leave our own houses.

And then I find inspiration…I always love finding new websites/blogs that I insistently connect with and I’ve been googling over Jenny Cruger’s work for a while now, her motto, Simple, Pure, Organic…really captures life in a way that I relate too right now.  Her work is beautiful, simple, soft, romantic, perfect.  I’ve allowed my self to be inspired by her work, but not let it consume me because then the self-doubt creeps in and we all really just want to be our own person!  But it just makes me want to work harder and achieve to that level one day!

But through her website I found Girl Hearts Camera, started by Heather Manor & Jenny Cruger, which is a beautiful website for photographers to find their creative spirt!  Excellent, just what I needed!  There latest post spoke to me too, Apples-to-Orangesbasically it highlights how damaging it can be to compare your work to others.  We all learn and grow at different speeds and we MUST remember that we also never stop learning or growing.  It’s a hard concept to learn because right now I feel impatient and feel like I should be making huge leaps and bounds, but instead taking baby-steps…but eventually those baby steps amount to huge leaps & bounds!

So long story short, it’s okay to get inspired from other photographer’s work, we all have to start somewhere until we find out own niche, but remember to encourage one another because we are all in this together and we are all really aiming for the same goals!

I will leave you with one of their downloads of inspiration!

 

One thought on “Stop Comparing Yourself…Lauren!

  1. I love the new look of your blog! So neat and clean! I totally agree with your post. I am the worst person when it comes to comparing myself with others. I always come out the worst and sometimes I just think I should put my camera away and never pick it up again. Why is the bad stuff so much easier to believe?

    YOU are a wonderful photographer. and you shouldn’t feel inferior to anyone.
    Have a great day!
    Tara

Leave a Reply

