Writing Really is a Lost Art!

1 Comment

Most of us live two lives…one work-life and one home-life…well my work-life consist of teaching children, I work in special ed., my title is a Speech & Language Assistant and I do really love my job, even as challenge as it can be. (Mostly it’s the adults, not so much the kids)…but that’s a whole other story I won’t even get into!  Over this past year I’ve been more involved in helping my students practice their writing skills!  In retrospect of this, starting this blog has helped me help them…I’m BIG about pre-writing, organizing one’s thoughts before they actually sit down pencil to paper…how do you expect someone to write a story if they have no idea where to start…I’m the queen of graphic organizers!!!  But by starting this blog I’ve discovered that practicing my own writing has helped me see the importance of writing (about anything) and helping my students find their own voice and own niche, writing is hard, it was for me when I was in school, but it shouldn’t be a choir or a punishment either, it should be fun & exciting!

I’m slowly getting to my point here…but what better way to practice your writing but with letters 🙂  After browsing through my many blogs I follow I came across Tara’s Blog today and she has added some great items to her ETSY Shop, she’s selling the most beautiful postcards!  (check our her photography too!)  but I was thinking, what better way to practice your writing but to send these beautiful postcards to friends & family…to the grandparents, or as birthday cards, or even a ‘I’m thinking about you’ postcard…who wouldn’t want to receive something in the mail now a days!  I always LOVE getting letters in the mail, it gives me the warm fuzzies as my family says!

So go check our her blog today and receive 20% your purchase!

One thought on “Writing Really is a Lost Art!

  1. Thanks for the shoutout Lauren! I know what you mean about how hard it is to compose your writing. There I times I sit down and just start typing, get halfway though and realize I’m in an entirely different place than where I wanted to go, then I have to start all over!
    You’re such a great person to be working with children. I learn, over and over again, that I am no good with more than 2 children at a time. Teachers AMAZE me.
    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

