Blog Watermark

5 Comments

After discovering this wonderful blog Nowhere to Go but Crazy, it inspired me to change up my watermark again!  I was intrigued on how she made her watermark circular and I wanted to see if I could do it too!  I’m constantly learning not only about photography and taking better photos, but how to use different post-processing too…so I feel like my style is constantly changing while I learn which style is right for me.  But I really like the round watermark, it looks cleaner and professional.  I wanted a different watermark for my personal blog too!  I did do a quick search to help me, I’m a visual person and since I’m still learning PSE I needed some hand-holding!

Since I love it when people help me, I’m going to help you!  Here are the steps I took to create my awesome watermark!

First I opened Photoshop Elements and opened a new doc.  Name it, and enter in the size you want…now you can chose anything you want…I chose 6X6 inches with a resolution of 72…(some say 300, but since I’m just using it online, I don’t think it really matters…)  Make sure you background is transparent too.

Then you want to open the text tool,  (on the right hand side) and type in your name, or the name of your blog.

Shortcuts are essential, they are not only fun, but they help with workflow and making things more efficient.  I’m working on a Mac, so instead of the CTRL button, I use the COMM button instead. (i.e. CTRL+ C =copy, CMO+C= copy).  So I learned that CMO+T highlights the text box, so once you do that you can go up to Image Menu-Rotate Layer 180 degrees.

This flips your text upside down, CMO+T, then you want to uncheck the Constrain Prop. and make the height 250%.

This stretches your text out a little so it will be easier to read once it’s in a circle!

 

You then want to go up to the Layer Panel and select Simplify Layer (I’m not really sure the purpose, but what I read it’s helpful)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then you want to go to the Filter Menu-Distort-Polar Coord. and make sure the Rect. Polar is Checked!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This step will actually make your text circular!  YAY!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now once my text was in a circle, I wanted to add a picture…so I clicked on new layer, so I wouldn’t ruin my text layer and went to File-Place.  And found the picture/photo/graphic I wanted and placed it in the center.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PERFECT!

Now I did two more things before I exited it out and started branding my photos…first I saved it as a brush, (Edit Menu and Define Brush, I use PSE 10, so it might written different on older verisons) so the next time I went into PSE to edit a picture I could just choose the brush tool and I can literally “stamp” my watermark on my photos or I use Lightroom 3 for my normal uploading and editing routine so I wanted to be able to export using my watermark without having to rely on PSE.  So I upload it as a graphic into Lightroom under File-edit watermark…just remember to save the watermark as a PNG!

 

And there you have it, easy-pesy!

5 thoughts on “Blog Watermark

  1. Always learning!! I like this watermark; very professional!

  2. Oh my gosh! I jumped when I saw my blog mentioned here! LOL Thank You Thank You!
    What an awesome tutorial! Do you mind if I link to it?

    I had to do quite a bit of searching too, in the end I found a really helpful video, but it was for CS5, I don’t know how different that is from PSE.

    I love your new watermark! Kudo’s on the tut and the good job!

    Tara

  3. Gotta try this! Thanks for showing tuts that work for Elements also! 🙂

Leave a Reply

