Happy New Year!

1 Comment

I don’t care who you are, everyone always looks back and reminisce about what they did during the past year.  We think about the good, the bad and then look forward to starting over again.  I don’t know what it is about the New Year, but it gives us an excuse to shed what was and rebuild.  Sounds good to me!  They say (researchers…) that if you write down your goals that they come true, or you are more likely to achieve them because your wrote them down and they are constantly staring you in the face!  But I’ve been ready for a fresh start for some time now, so I thought it wouldn’t hurt…but first I wanted to highlight some great moments from 2011.  I always remembered before we were dating, my husband’s motto was, “(put year here), will be better.”  Well, I’m happy to report that he doesn’t say that anymore!

Favorites of 2011:

Our Wedding(I had a lot of fun planning our wedding, even though at times it might of been too stressful, but it was a great time!)

Traveling to the West Coast on our Honeymoon!

My sister found love again…

Discovering photography again!

Trying to take control of my exercise routine…P90X!

And the memories I’ve made with family & friends…

In the spirit of the New Year, I’ve decided to write down my goals for 2012 so I can track how much I’ve grow in a year…especially as a photographer.  Since I started late in 2011, it’s going to be neat to watch my progress and growth through a whole year!

2012 Goals:

Take another photography class, either online or through NECC again.

Learn what my style is, what I enjoy taking pictures of and how I like to edit them! (Including taking better SOOC-straight out of the camera–learning how to use light, find my correct exposure, etc.)

Take the initiative to find professional photography opportunities for myself.

Save enough to upgrade!

Travel to new places!

Finish the little projects around the house!

And finally, I think I want to do a 365 Project! (I guess this year it’s going to be a 366…)  It’s going to be a challenge for sure, the goal of the project is to simple, shoot a photo a day.  But what better way to help improve my photography skills than shooting everyday!  Many people who do a 365 have a theme; some do portraits, others pick a word and link them to their photos…I think the hardest thing for me is to pick something and stick with it.  So taking a cue from my blog’s name, I’ve decided to dedicate my 365 (366) to Creating Something out of Nothing…since it did inspire me to start this in the first place!  (I’m not sure what it means or how I’m going to protray my photos…I’m just hoping to discover more about myself and hone skills after the year is up!)  Words of encouragement & support are always welcomed!

Happy New Year!

1600, 1/60 F5

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. Pingback: Goals for 2013 «

Leave a Reply

