Made my first purchase!

3 Comments

I finally broke down and decided to buy a new lens!!!  Thanks to our friend Nate, he has been letting us borrow his very expensive lenses, after buying our Nikon D70 (we just bought the body).  Knowing we can’t use them forever…I decided we needed a backup just in case Nate decided to quite his job tomorrow and become a professional photography (? no…you never know!)  Anywho, after much reading, searching online, asking around, and emailing my husband picture after picture, I’ve decided on this one!

Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX

I know it’s just a little guy and it doesn’t zoom–but that’s what legs are for!  I wanted something with a faster aperture and something that worked better in low-light conditions.  Plus it is very affordable! (retails for $199).  I’m pretty exciting and on top this I learned something new today!  I learned that even though I’m buying a 35mm lens, it acts like a 52.5mm lens because now most digital camera sensors are smaller than film cameras, essentially creating a smaller area through the viewfinder…”they” call this crop factor.  I don’t quiet get it yet, this might help you…but basically if you have a Nikon like me, multiply 1.5x to any lens you buy and that’s your new focal length.  (which still doesn’t make sense to me because if you wanted to buy a 35mm lens and now its a 50mm lens, isn’t that false advertisement?…)  But Nate has informed me that I am not yet a full-blow nerd so to not worry so much about it…

It arrives Friday! 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Made my first purchase!

  1. Wow, you don’t waste any time!

  2. Good for you! You need the right “tools” to achieve what you want.

Leave a Reply

