Explore…

Leave a comment

This is the topic for our up and coming FINAL project!  We have two weeks to explore with our cameras.  This might be one of my favorite assignments so far, like the paper assignment she told us what we had to photograph.  For our final assignment we have to pick a TREE and try to tell a story, a convey a message or meaning, using either one great photograph or a series of photographs!  Growing up in Maine, I love trees, my father was a forestry major in school, so I know a lot about trees that a person just really shouldn’t have to know! (but I’m a better person for it! thanks dad 🙂 )  This time of year is especially perfect for taking pictures, the foliage is beautiful, the leaves are colorful, bold, and unique!  I’ve always believed that trees tell their own story, most all have been around longer than all of us, and they have seen much change in the world.  They sit patiently listening and dreaming about the world around them, trees can be somber, peaceful, and calming.  But they can also be dangerous, destructive, and powerful.  Like everybody, they have two sides.  Trees are very symbolic in our lives.  Trees give us food, shelter, and materials for living.  Some of the greatest authors in the world have use trees in their writing, look at Shel Silverstein with The Giving Tree, it is a touching, warm-felt book about the relationship between a boy and a tree!  We are also  lucky to live in a country that have some of the tallest trees in the world, I was fortunate enough to visit the Redwoods on my honeymoon and talk about a jaw-dropping experience, the scale was astronomical, it hurt our necks just looking up, most of the time you couldn’t even see the tops, it was like a whole different world!

So let’s just say I’m excited to take on this challenge!  A few people in my class agreed, they had a love for trees too and were already brainstorming which tree to chose.  It’s just something about them, their mysterious and it makes us curious to find out more about them!

I wish I knew more about our camera before we went on our honeymoon, but I think we captured some great moments:

See the sense of scale!

 

I couldn't believe it

looking up

 

the biggest we saw

 

finally figured out the self-timer!

tree hugger

Leave a Reply

